### **HAA Board Committee Information**

## **ADVANCEMENT**

Provides oversight to the organization's overall fundraising. Partners with staff to ensure a donor-centered fundraising program for privately supported divisions or programs.

- Meets twice per year
- . Chair: C. C. Conner
- Staff Point of Contact: Director of Development

### **AUDIT**

Provides oversight to annual audit process and procedures and establishes audit protocols.

- Meets twice per year
- Chair: Jackie Phillips
- Staff Point of Contact: Stacey Keene, COO

### **CIVIC ART**

Provides oversight of the processes of civic art, such as communications, application forms, panel design, and review of application process once panel recommendation is complete. Provides input on recommendations to the city regarding artwork donations and decommissions.

- Meets monthly
- Chair: Brenda Peters-Chase
- Staff Point of Contact: Grace Zuniga, Director of Civic Art

### **COMMUNICATIONS (AD-HOC)**

Provides oversight of the agency's communications activities. Advises on messaging and contacts for press and other communications efforts.

- Meets quarterly
- Chair: Alim Adatia
- Staff Point of Contact: Karen Martinez, Director of Communications

## **EQUITY (AD-HOC)**

Provides oversight on the organization's efforts to increase equity in the region's arts community.

- Meets every other month
- Chair: Michele Leal Farah
- Staff Point of Contact: John Abodeely, CEO

#### **FINANCE**

Provides oversight to budget development and management. Provides input into the alignment between organizational strategy and the annual budget.

- Meets monthly
- Chair: JP Capistran
- Staff Point of Contact: Stacey Keene, COO

## **GRANTS**

Provides oversight of and input on policy and implementation for agency grants programs.

- Meets monthly
- Co-chairs: Rosalinda Martinez and Louise Upshaw-McClenny

Staff Point of Contact: Taylor Jackson, Director of Grants

## **HUMAN RESOURCES**

Supports the CEO in developing and reviewing HR policies. Develops annual performance goals and conducts annual reviews for the CEO.

- Meets three times per year
- Chair: Shaheen Rahman
- Staff Point of Contact: John Abodeely, CEO

## **NOMINATING**

Cultivates and recommends to the board new board members and board officers. Reviews and recommends amendments to the Bylaws for board consideration.

- Meets four times per year
- Chair: June Deadrick
- Staff Point of Contact: John Abodeely, CEO

# SPECIAL EVENTS (AD-HOC)

In alignment with the Advancement Committee, develops and executes plans for an annual fundraiser.

- Meets two or three times per year
- Chair: Lauren Anderson
- Staff Point of Contact: Director of External Affairs

	Standing Committees as per bylaws. All Chairs serve on the Executive Committee.  All committees require board majority membership. Mayor's Designee is on Executive per HOT contract with City of Houston.							Ad-hoc Committees & Taskforces as created by the Chairman. Committee Chairs serve on Executive Committee at the Chairman of the Board's discretion.		
	Minimum of chair + 2 members, may include Advisory and Associate	Minimum of chair + 2 members, may include Advisory and Associate	Minimum of chair + 5 members, may include Advisory and Associate	Minimum of chair + 5 members, Board only	Minimum of chair + 5 members, may include Advisory and Associate	Minimum of chair + 2 members, may include Advisory	Minimum of chair + 5 members, may include Advisory	Minimum of chair + 2 members, may include Advisory and Associate		
	ASSOCIATE MEMBERS	ASSOCIATE MEMBERS	ASSOCIATE MEMBERS	Only board members may serve as per bylaws	ASSOCIATE MEMBERS	Only board members and Advisory may serve as per bylaws	Only board members and Advisory may serve as per bylaws	ASSOCIATE MEMBERS	ASSOCIATE MEMBERS	ASSOCIATE MEMBERS
	voluntarily nonvoting	voluntarily nonvoting	voluntarily nonvoting	Only board members may serve as per bylaws	voluntarily nonvoting	Only board members and Advisory may serve as per bylaws	Only board members and Advisory may serve as per bylaws	voluntarily nonvoting	voluntarily nonvoting	voluntarily nonvoting
Only board members may serve as per bylaws ↓	ADVISORY MEMBERS	ADVISORY MEMBERS	ADVISORY MEMBERS	Only board members may serve as per bylaws	ADVISORY MEMBERS	ADVISORY MEMBERS	ADVISORY MEMBERS	ADVISORY MEMBERS	ADVISORY MEMBERS	ADVISORY MEMBERS
Executive	Advancement	Audit	Civic Art	Finance	Grants	Human Resources	Nominating	Communications	Equity	Special Events
Michele Leal Farah - Board Chair	C.C. Conner	Jackie Phillips	Brenda Peters Chase	JP Capistran	Rosalinda Martinez	Shaheen Rahman	June Deadrick	Alim Adatia	Michele Leal Farah	Lauren Anderson
Sergio Selvera - Board Vice Chair	Jerry Barnett	C.C. Conner	Juan Alanis	Eric Blackwell	Louise Upshaw-McClenn	Shani Burnett	Alim Adatia	Juan Alanis	Alim Adatia	Eric Blackwell
JP Capistran - Treasurer	Paola Creixell	Tim Kollatschny	Jerry Barnett	Vernique Hutchinson Francis	Ashley Allen	C.C. Conner	Darryl Gaines	Jerry Barnett	Juan Alanis	Dr. John Cangelosi
Jackie Phillips - Secretary	Darryl Gaines	Suresh Raghavan	Beryl Basham	Michele Leal Farah	Shani Burnett	Michele Leal Farah	Michele Leal	Rosi Hernandez	Beryl Basham	Michele Leal Farah
C.C. Conner, Advancement	Justin Goodman	Eryn Roberts	Theresa Escobedo	Brenda Peters-Chase	C.C. Conner	Sergio Selvera	Suresh Raghavan	Necole Irvin	Jackie Maldonado	Vernique Hutchinson
Jackie Phillips, Audit	Rosi Hernandez	Whitmire Vo	Justin Goodman	Eryn Roberts	M. Kaye DeWalt		Sergio Selvera	Jackie Maldonado	Shaheen Rahman	Garfield Johnson
Brenda Peters Chase, Civic Art	Tim Kollatschny		Necole Irvin	Sergio Selvera	Darryl Gaines			Nilufar Ramji	Eryn Roberts	Jakeen Johnson
Rosalinda and Louise - Grants Co-chairs	Michele Leal		Michele Leal Farah	Chris Cardenas	Rosi Hernandez			Louise Upshaw-McClenny	Sergio Selvera	Rosalinda Martinez
Shaheen Rahman, Human Resources	Jenna Lindley		Judy Nyquist		Necole Irvin				Lena Silva	Daisy Mendoza
June Deadrick, Nominating	Lester Marks		Eryn Roberts		Michele Leal Farah					Judy Nyquist
Alim Adatia, Communications	Judy Nyquist		Sergio Selvera		Sergio Selvera					
Michele Leal Farah, Equity			Linda Shearer		Lena Silva					
Lauren Anderson, Special Events			Paula Sutton		Whitmire Vo					
Necole Irvin, Mayor's Designee			Saul Valentin							